4 Huskers win awards in Roper Sports Writing Competition

· 2 min read

4 Huskers win awards in Roper Sports Writing Competition


The University of Nebraska–Lincoln College of Journalism and Mass Communications recently announced the winners of the Lynn and Dana Roper Sports Writing Competition.

The annual competition tests students’ ability to produce clear, concise, accurate and compelling stories about sports. The first-place winner received a $2,000 cash award, second place $1,500, third place $1,000 and fourth place $500.

The winners, with their hometown, year in school, major(s) and entries, are:

Each student submitted two published sports stories and their resume to be reviewed by judges. This year’s judges were ESPN senior writer Elizabeth Merrill, Omaha World-Herald sportswriter Dirk Chatelain and former World-Herald sportswriter Chris Heady.

Established in 2001, the competition is open to all undergraduate and graduate students in the journalism college.

Recent News