16 faculty earn campus awards for teaching

· 2 min read

16 faculty earn campus awards for teaching

Sixteen faculty members will receive teaching awards at the University of Nebraska–Lincoln’s Honors Convocation on April 24.

The honors include the 2016 College Distinguished Teaching Awards and the Annis Chaikin Sorensen Award.

“These award-winning faculty showcase a passionate commitment to engaging students in teaching and learning,” said Amy Goodburn, associate vice chancellor. “We are proud to recognize their important contributions on our campus.”

The Annis Chaikin Sorensen Award is an annual award that recognizes an individual for outstanding teaching in the humanities. Winner of the 2016 award is Maureen Honey, professor of English.

Honey joined UNL in 1979 and is a leading scholar of American modernism. Honey has made important pedagogical contributions both in and outside the classroom. Through literature, her students come to understand the cultural history of America.

The College Distinguished Teaching Awards recognize consistent excellence in teaching. Winners of the 2016 honor, organized by college, are:

Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources — Erin Blankenship, professor of statistics

Arts and Sciences — Chad Brassil, associate professor biological sciences; Jeannette Jones, associate professor of history and ethnic studies; Jody Koenig Kellas, associate professor of communication studies; Nora Peterson, assistant professor of modern languages and literatures; Jordan Soliz, associate professor of communication studies; Jeffrey Stevens, assistant professor of psychology

Business Administration — Jake Messersmith, associate professor of management.

Education and Human Sciences — Edward Daly, professor of educational psychology; Elizabeth Lewis, associate professor of teaching, learning and teacher education; Scott Napolitano, assistant professor of practice of educational psychology.

Engineering — Sohrab Asgarpoor, professor of electrical and computer engineering; Deepak Keshwani, associate professor of biological systems engineering.

Fine and Performing Arts — Stanley Kleppinger, associate professor of music

Law — William Lyons, professor of law.

For more information about these awards, click here.

Recent News