14 graduating seniors earn University Honors Program awards

· 3 min read

14 graduating seniors earn University Honors Program awards

White and yellow flowers, with the south side of Love Library in the background
Craig Chandler | University Communication and Marketing

Fourteen graduating seniors have earned awards from the University Honors Program at the University of Nebraska–Lincoln. The students were selected from among 200-plus Honors graduates during the 2023-24 academic year.

The Outstanding Honors Leadership Award recognizes Honors graduates who have made the most significant and lasting impact on the Honors Program through their leadership. This year, the award was given to two May graduates: Abigail VanHorn of Des Moines, Iowa, and Zoe Zingler of Elkhorn.

The Honors Program collaborates each year with Nebraska’s undergraduate colleges to recognize an Outstanding Honors Graduate from each college. The nine students who earned this award were selected based on their contributions to, and involvement with, both the Honors Program and their respective colleges.

Four students were also recognized for outstanding leadership within one of the Honors Program’s registered student organizations: Honors Ambassadors, Honors Program Student Advisory Board, Honors Peer Mentor Leaders and the Dr. Michael W. Combs Honors Scholars.

Finally, one student was recognized with the Honors Resilience Award, which acknowledges Honors graduates who have persisted and grown through adversity during their time at Nebraska to achieve at a high level both personally and academically.

Following is a list of Honors Program award winners by hometown. The information includes major(s), graduation term and the award won by each student.


Central City:

  • Emily Blomstedt, English and political science, May 2024, Outstanding Honors Graduate: College of Arts and Sciences


  • Zoe Zingler, chemistry and environmental studies, May 2024, Outstanding Honors Leadership Award

Grand Island:

  • Rebecca Liebsack, biochemistry, May 2024, Outstanding Honors Peer Mentor Leader


  • Emily Hogg, biochemistry, May 2024, Outstanding Honors Graduate: College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources
  • Juliana Quattrocchi, economics, May 2024, Outstanding Honors Program Student Advisory Board Member

Nebraska City:

  • Luke Partsch, history and music, May 2024, Outstanding Honors Graduate: Hixson-Lied College of Fine and Performing Arts


  • Tristan Curd, computer science, May 2024, Combs Honors Scholar
  • Robyn Handley, nutrition and health sciences, December 2023, Outstanding Honors Graduate: College of Education and Human Sciences
  • Isabel Robb, interior design, May 2024, Outstanding Honors Graduate: College of Architecture

Elsewhere in the U.S.

Ankeny, Iowa:

  • Kaitlyn Richards, environmental studies, and fisheries and wildlife, May 2024, Honors Resilience Award

Des Moines, Iowa:

  • Abigail VanHorn, criminology and criminal justice, May 2024, Outstanding Honors Leadership Award and Outstanding Honors Graduate: UNO College of Public Affairs and Community Service

Overland Park, Kansas:

  • Laurel Carder, computer science, May 2024, Outstanding Honors Ambassador and Outstanding Honors Graduate: College of Engineering

Columbia, Missouri:

  • Marissa Kraus, journalism, May 2024, Outstanding Honors Graduate: College of Journalism and Mass Communications

Delaware, Ohio:

  • Rebecca Koppelman, economics and supply chain management, May 2024, Outstanding Honors Graduate: College of Business

Recent News