10 faculty selected for Big Ten leadership programs

· 3 min read

10 faculty selected for Big Ten leadership programs

University Communications file photo

The Office of the Executive Vice Chancellor is sponsoring the participation of 10 University of Nebraska–Lincoln faculty members in the Big Ten Academic Alliance Leadership Development program for the 2017-18 academic year.

Husker faculty will participate in two of the leadership development areas — academic leadership and department executive officers.

Fellows in the Academic Leadership Program are: Shannon Bartelt-Hunt, professor of civil engineering and Robert B. Daugherty water for food fellow; Sonia Feigenbaum, associate vice chancellor for international engagement and global strategies and senior international officer; Deb Hamernik, associate dean of agricultural research division and professor of animal science; Matthew Jockers, associate dean for research and partnerships and Susan J. Rosowski associate professor of English; and Sherri Jones, department chair and director of Barkley Memorial Center and professor of special education and communication disorders.

Nebraska’s Department Executive Officer fellows are: Marco Abel, department chair and professor of English; Richard DeFusco, department chair and professor of finance; Clinton Krehbiel, department head and professor of animal science; Tom Marley, department chair and professor of mathematics; and Harris Smith, director and associate professor of the Johnny Carson School of Theatre and Film.

The Academic Leadership Program is one of the most successful leadership initiatives of the Big Ten Academic Alliance. Established in 1989, the program develops the academic leadership and managerial skills of nominated faculty who have demonstrated exceptional ability and academic promise. The program addresses the challenges of academic administration at major research universities, while helping faculty members prepare to meet those challenges.

The Academic Leadership Program fellows will attend their first seminar in mid-October at the University of Iowa, followed by one in February at the University of Michigan. In April, Nebraska will host the third and final seminar of the program.

Learn more about Nebraska’s Academic Leadership Program fellows and view past participants.

The Department Executive Officer fellows program was started in 1997 as an annual program of leadership opportunities for university department heads and chairs. Each year, approximately 75 department heads and chairs from Big Ten universities come together for this unique leadership development seminar. Topics at the three-day event range from conflict resolution and time management to faculty development, performance reviews and group problem solving. This year’s seminar will be Nov. 9-11 at the Big Ten Center in Chicago.

Learn more about Nebraska’s Department Executive Officers fellows and view past participants.

For more information about the Big Ten Academic Alliance Leadership Development Programs, contact Judy Walker, associate vice chancellor for faculty and academic affairs, at judy.walker@unl.edu or 402-472-3751.

Recent News