March 2, 2020

Statewide High School Invitational Exhibition opens

Breanna Brennfoerder, Sandy Creek, “Potter’s Hands,” mixed media sculpture, 7” x 10.5” x 10.5”, 2019.

Breanna Brennfoerder, Sandy Creek, “Potter’s Hands,” mixed media sculpture, 7” x 10.5” x 10.5”, 2019.

The “Statewide High School Invitational Exhibition” opens March 2 in the Eisentrager•Howard Gallery in Richards Hall.

The exhibition, which is part of the Hixson-Lied College of Fine and Performing Arts’ Nebraska Young Artist Awards visual arts component and sponsored by the University of Nebraska–Lincoln’s School of Art, Art History and Design, runs March 2-13. A closing reception will be held from 6 to 8 p.m. March 13 in the Eisentrager•Howard Gallery.

The artists whose works are selected to receive the award in visual art will be notified via e-mail. These works will then be re-installed in the Medici Gallery, also in Richards Hall, and will be on view there until April 8 as the “Nebraska Young Artist Awards Exhibition.” These students will also be invited to the day of activities on April 8 with the other Nebraska Young Artist Award winners in music, dance, theatre and emerging media arts.

The Nebraska Young Artist Awards annually recognize Nebraska high school juniors who are talented in art, music, dance, theatre or emerging media arts. This is the 23rd year for the awards.

Gallery hours for the exhibition are from 12:30 to 4:30 p.m., weekdays. Admission to the gallery is free and open to the public.

Schools were invited to nominate up to three students to participate in the juried exhibition. The following 50 students were nominated to participate in the exhibition by their respective high schools (final participation subject to change):

  • Bridgette Abernathy, Bellevue East
  • Nolan Albracht, Aquinas Catholic
  • Zaineb Aljumayaat, Lincoln High
  • Abby Allen, Loup County
  • Hunter Allred, Gering
  • Chloe Amelong, Loomis
  • Shelby Baker, Home School
  • Daniel Blake, Grand Island Senior
  • Breanna Brennfoerder, Sandy Creek
  • Rylon Chromy, Aquinas Catholic
  • Rachel Cloeter, Lincoln Arts & Humanities
  • Zoie Cornell, Superior
  • Hannah Cowins, Lincoln Arts & Humanities
  • Melissa Escobar, Schuyler Central
  • Machaela Freeman, Milford
  • Jillian Grovijohn, Howells-Dodge Consolidated
  • Kacia Jankoski, Omaha South Magnet
  • Anna Johannes, Lakeview
  • Averey Kahler, Milford
  • Phoebe Kolb, Milford
  • Carter Krajewski, Perkins County
  • Natalie Leininger, Lincoln High
  • Abigail Lewis, Loup County
  • Brooklyn Liljehorn, Kearney Catholic
  • Lauren Maciejewski, Kearney Catholic
  • Sophie Manzitto, Omaha South Magnet
  • Natilie Martensen, Shelby-Rising City
  • Morgan Mattan, Falls City Sacred Heart
  • Mekenzie Miller, Sandy Creek
  • Kiara Mikkelsen, Superior
  • Macy Moravec, Home School
  • Sophia Olivas, Lincoln Arts & Humanities
  • Emma Parr, St. Cecilia
  • Galilea Pedroza, St. Cecilia
  • Ashten Rennerfeldt, Oakland-Craig
  • Abrielle Rivera, Sandy Creek
  • Elaine Roggenkamp, Southwest Public
  • Savannah Robinson, Fullerton
  • Janessa Schmidt, Howells-Dodge Consolidated
  • Paige Schneider, Gering
  • Makayla Schoen, Southern Valley
  • Keegan Sims, Perkins County
  • Ben Shoka, Aquinas Catholic
  • An Tran, Lincoln High
  • Belle Tran, Grand Island Senior
  • Madison Webster, Grand Island Senior
  • Reagan Weidemann, Logan View
  • Cecilia Wonch, Arnold
  • Jingming Yu, Lincoln East
  • Taran Zoltenko, Superior