October 16, 2013

Committees appointed for Arts and Sciences, Journalism dean searches

Andersen Hall, home of UNL's College of Journalism and Mass Communications

Committees have been formed to name candidates to fill two dean openings at UNL. Announced by the Office of the Senior Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs, the committees will select candidates to become the dean of UNL’s College of Arts and Sciences and dean of the College of Journalism and Mass Communications.

A 17-member committee, led by Susan Poser, dean of Law, has begun the search process to forward candidates for a new dean of Arts and Sciences. The committee was appointed by Ellen Weissinger, senior vice chancellor for academic affairs.

In addition to Poser, members of the committee are Sidnie White Crawford, Willa Cather professor and past chair of classics and religious studies, faculty of Judaic studies; Carina Curto, assistant professor of mathematics; Kwame Dawes, Chancellor’s Professor of English and Glenna Luschei Editor of the Prairie Schooner; Aaron Dominguez, associate professor of physics and astronomy; Sherilyn Fritz, George Holmes University Professor of Earth and Atmospheric Sciences; Bridget Goosby, associate professor of sociology; David Hansen, professor and past chair of psychology; Margaret Jacobs, Chancellor’s Professor of History, past director of Women’s and Gender Studies; Joseph Mendola, professor and chair of philosophy; Jay Storz, Rosowski Associate Professor of Biological Sciences; Elizabeth Theiss-Morse, Willa Cather Professor and past chair of political science; Xiao Cheng Zeng, Ameritus University Professor of Chemistry; Melanie Simpson, Rosowski Professor of Biochemistry; Dodie Eveleth, business manager for chemistry; Amanda Holman, doctoral student in communications studies; and Kate Kollars, senior in anthropology and biological sciences.

The college is home to 18 departments, 44 centers, programs and institutes, 38 majors and 57 minors. The university has enlisted Korn/Ferry International to assist in the search process.

The deadline for applications is to be determined. University faculty members are encouraged to nominate or forward names for consideration to unl-casdean@kornferry.com.

David Manderscheid left in June to become the executive dean of the College of Arts and Sciences and vice provost for arts and sciences at Ohio State University. He had been arts and sciences dean at UNL since 2007.

College of Journalism and Mass Communications begins dean search

A committee, also appointed by Weissinger and led by Jim O’Hanlon, interim dean of journalism and mass communications, has begun the process to recruit and select candidates for a new dean of the journalism college.

In addition to O’Hanlon, members of the committee are: Amy Struthers, associate professor of advertising; Barney McCoy, associate professor of broadcasting; Bryan Wang, assistant professor of advertising; Kathryn Christensen, professor of practice, broadcasting; Matthew Waite, professor of practice, news-editorial; Ruth Brown, professor of advertising; Sue Bullard, associate professor of news-editorial; Gina Matkin, associate professor of agricultural leadership, education and communication; Jill Arth, academic adviser; Dakarai Aarons, director, communications and external affairs, data quality campaign; Melissa Matczak, managing editor, Omaha World-Herald; Madalyn Gotschall, undergraduate student, broadcasting; and Jennifer Green, graduate student, advertising.

The deadline for applications is Nov. 4. Faculty members are encouraged to nominate or forward names for consideration to O’Hanlon at johanlon1@unl.edu. Gary Kebbel, who had been dean since 2010, resigned his administrative appointment in August 2012. For more information, go to: http://go.unl.edu/cojmcdeansearch.