March 30, 2018

Achievements | Honors, awards, publications for March 30

Recent achievements earned by the campus community were awarded to Aaron Elliott, Brad Goetsch, Virginia Chaidez, Natalie Dettmer, Jennifer McKitrick, Toni Morgan, Carolyn Pope Edwards, Maria Rosario de Guzman, Angela Palmer-Wackerly, Mark van Roojen, Caitlyn Wayment and Joseph Weber.


  • Brad Goetsch, instruction coordinator for the professional golf management program, received the Horton Smith Award from the Nebraska section of the Professional Golfers’ Association. The award recognizes outstanding contributions to the education of PGA professionals. Goetsch serves as chair of the education committee of the PGA’s Nebraska section.

  • Jennifer McKitrick, professor and chair of philosophy, is the author of a new book, “Dispositional Pluralism.” Offered via Oxford University Press, the book presents and opinionated guide to the philosophy of dispositions, which are tendencies that happen when a certain type of circumstance is to occur. The book will be released in the summer.

  • Research by Nebraska’s Angela Palmer-Wackerly and colleagues Caitlyn Wayment, Anthony Adams and Virginia Chaidez, was awarded a Top Three Paper honor from the Intergroup Communication Interest Group of the International Communication Association. The paper, “Addressing Intergroup Communication Barriers Through the Voice of Community Health Workers,” will be presented at the associations conference in Prague, Czech Republic, in May. Palmer-Wackerly is an assistant professor of communication studies. Chaidez is an assistant professor of nutrition and health sciences. Wayment is a senior majoring in biological sciences and Spanish.

  • Maria Rosario de Guzman and Carolyn Pope Edwards are among co-editors of a new book that examines how distance affects families. The book, “Parenting from Afar and the Reconfiguration of Family Across Distance,” is available from Oxford University Press. Rosaria de Guzman is an associate professor and Nebraska Extension specialist in Child, Youth and Family Studies. Edwards is an emeritus professor in Child, Youth and Family Studies.

  • Mark van Roojen, professor of philosophy, will serve as the keynote speaker at the St. Louis Annual Conference on Reasons and Rationality. The conference is May 20-22.

  • Joseph Weber, associate professor of news-editorial, has been named graduate chair of the College of Journalism and Mass Communications. The graduate program includes two master’s degrees, one in professional journalism and one in integrated marketing and communications. Additionally, the college offers a graduate certificate in public relations and social media.


  • Natalie Dettmer, senior art major, won a national poster contest sponsored by Amplifier and Adobe Project 1324 to create posters for the March for Our Lives event in Washington, D.C., on March 24. More than 15,000 copies of her poster were distributed at March for Our Lives and Dettmer was able to attend the event as one of the winners of the contest. Three winners were selected among the open call for submissions from artists between the ages of 13 and 24.

  • Toni Morgan, a graduate research assistant in communications studies and the Center on Children, Families and the Law, recorded her first research publication and received a top paper honor from the Eastern Communication Association. The top paper honor was for “Sex Matters: Exploring Affection Exchange Theory and Relationship Qualities,” which will be presented at the Eastern Communications Association conference in April in Pittsburgh. Her first research publication, “Sex and Risk: Parental Messages and Associated Safety/Risk Behavior of Adult Children,” which featured in the January edition of Communication Quarterly. Morgan is a co-author on both research papers.

  • Aaron Elliott, a graduate student in philosophy, will chair a session at the St. Louis Annual Conference on Reasons and Rationality, May 20-22. The session, “Dispossessing Defeat,” will be presented by Javier González de Prado Salas of the New University of Lisbon.

This column is a regular Friday feature of Nebraska Today. Faculty, staff and students can submit achievements to be considered for this column via email to For more information, call 402-472-8515.

Nebraska PGA Section President Nathan Kalin Presenting Brad Goetsch the Horton Smith Award
Brad Goetsch was presented the Horton Smith Award by Nathan Kalin, president of the Nebraska PGA section.
Natalie Dettmer with her winning poster design, "Not One More." Photo by Adobe Project 1324.
Natalie Dettmer
Jerry and Karla Huse Professor of News-Editorial and Graduate Chair
Joseph Weber