June 18, 2024

38 first-year students join Nebraska Business Honors Academy

Sun shines over Howard L. Hawks Hall
Craig Chandler | University Communication and Marketing

Craig Chandler | University Communication and Marketing

Thirty-eight incoming first-year students have been selected to join the Nebraska Business Honors Academy at the University of Nebraska–Lincoln this fall. Comprising the academy’s 12th cohort, the students hail from seven U.S. states and 13 Nebraska communities.

“These talented, high-ability students will challenge themselves in new and different ways from day one,” said Kathy Farrell, James Jr. and Susan Stuart Endowed Dean and professor of finance. “They will stretch their strengths both in and out of the classroom and hone their academic, interpersonal and leadership skills as they prepare to lead the future of business.”

Student Success graphic

The incoming cohort plans to study in nine academic majors within the College of Business. Students will complete most of their core and foundation business curriculum together, using an action-based learning style focused on the development of critical thinking, technical and communication skills.

“We’re very excited to welcome these students to the academy,” said Erin Burnette, the academy’s director. “This group is keenly poised to find unique and impactful ways to positively contribute to the university community, and I have no doubt they will raise the bar for the academy, the College of Business and the university at large. Our team feels very honored to be able to have a front-row seat as we help this phenomenal group of students learn, grow and achieve their potential as they progress through their college career.”

The new students will participate in leadership activities and student competitions across the country to enhance their professional communication. They will also participate in internships and study abroad experiences.

“Currently, our students are involved in 150-plus student organizations and serve in a variety of prominent leadership roles,” Burnette said. “This summer, over half of academy students are participating in paid internships across 10 states and two countries. Eight alumni cohorts have taken their talents to careers and graduate schools spanning 33 states and five countries, with 25% of alumni heading straight into a graduate or professional degree program. Similarly, we look forward to helping this new cohort succeed professionally and personally.”

The following students will join the fall 2024 cohort of the Nebraska Business Honors Academy. The student’s high school is included in parentheses if it differs from the hometown.



  • Isabella Ruda, agribusiness (Logan View)


  • Maris Dahl, finance


  • Bennett Stock, finance


  • Emmery Huyser, accounting (Adams Central)


  • Aiden Benda, finance


  • Margaret Haarberg, actuarial science (Kearney Catholic)


  • Mason Chandler, economics (Lincoln East)
  • Will Hansen, finance (Lincoln Southeast)
  • Samantha Hobelman, marketing (Lincoln Southwest)
  • Darian Kauk, business administration (Lincoln East)
  • Kenna Kramer, finance (Pius X)
  • Cole Mickells, business administration (Lincoln East)
  • Elizeh Tarkian, economics (Lincoln Southeast)
  • Stella Tidball, marketing (Lincoln East)


  • Abby Boner, business and law


  • Gavin Dunlap, finance

North Platte:

  • Ellie Blakely, business and law


  • Dylan Asmus, actuarial science (Elkhorn North)
  • Courtney Carlson, business administration (Skutt Catholic)
  • Mary Claire Dougherty, actuarial science (Duchesne)
  • Ava Fowler, business administration (Elkhorn South)
  • Preston Gordman, finance (Elkhorn North)
  • Grant Meisgeier, accounting (Elkhorn South)
  • Carson Peters, accounting (Elkhorn South)


  • Vincent Timberlake, accounting (Papillion-La Vista)


  • Reagan Pelster, agribusiness


  • Mason Ley, business and law

Elsewhere in the U.S.

Arlington Heights, Illinois:

  • Delaney McCabe, business and law (Rolling Meadows)

Minooka, Illinois:

  • Brice McManus, actuarial science

Plainfield, Illinois:

  • Colin Doyle, finance (Plainfield North)

Overland Park, Kansas:

  • Corrina Gomez, actuarial science (St. Thomas Aquinas)

Circle Pines, Minnesota:

  • Aidan Ballard, marketing (Centennial)

Lakeville, Minnesota:

  • Annabelle King, marketing (Lakeville South)

Parkville, Missouri:

  • Marin Zink, marketing (Park Hill South)

Warrensburg, Missouri:

  • Alli Stiles, business and law (Knob Noster)

Wildwood, Missouri:

  • Alexander Hoffman, actuarial science (Lafayette)

Dresher, Pennsylvania:

  • Mason Kullmann, actuarial science (Upper Dublin)

Argyle, Texas:

  • Jacob Page, finance (Westlake Academy)

News Release Contact(s)

Executive Director of Communications, Marketing and External Relations, College of Business