Medill is first fellow from Nebraska; Curry joins Carnegie Mellon seminar; Levine earns book award

Hans Sturm, associate professor of double bass and jazz studies and area head for strings, will travel to Paris in December to receive awards for performance and teaching from the International Rabbath Institute. Other recent honorees featured in Achievements include Colleen Medill, Dawne Curry and Emily Levine.

Students cataloged more than 150 historic items during UNL's third History Harvest, held March 15 at the Nebraska History Museum. The artifacts — each recorded digitally — included a mid-19th century scrapbook kept by a many who spent 11 years traveling with a circus and five boxes containing information on the history of Lincoln and First-Plymouth Church. The project is designed to help communities collect, preserve and share their rich histories.

The UNL History Harvest project, along with the Nebraska State Historical Society, will host the third annual History Harvest, 10 a.m. to 3 p.m. March 15 in the Nebraska History Museum. History Harvest is an innovative project that brings together computer science and history students to produce a digital history of Nebraska generated by and for the people of Nebraska.

In popular culture, espionage is a glamorous occupation — cool cars, life-saving gadgets and martinis, shaken, not stirred. But in the real world, espionage is much different. With that in mind, Gerald Steinacher, assistant professor of history, is offering for the first time a class on the history of espionage, covering intelligence gathering from World War I to today.